Women in Food Industry Management

The Donna Messer Women in Food Industry Management Scholarship Award

WFIM is proud to recognize the value of female students graduating from studies related to the Food Industry. For this reason, WFIM sponsors a scholarship to recognize, reward, and support academic merit and a commitment to the Food Industry.   WFIM has named their annual scholarship after one of the founding members, Donna Messer.


Olivia Kordos, BSc. Food & Nutrition, Ryerson University

Olivia intends to pursue her goal of becoming a Registered Dietitian by completing an internship at North York General Hospital, and then possibly pursuing a Masters level degree. Knowing just how important food is in shaping one's health & identity, she would like to work with clients to make eating a positive experience for all. As food continues to be an important part of who she is, she would like to help future generations protect and maintain their food literacy skills and traditions.

Pictured: Barbara Onyskow , WFIM Chair, Nancy Klassen, Scholarship Committee Chair, and 2016 Scholarship Winner Olivia Kordos


Iana Mologuina, BSc. Nutrition, Ryerson University

With the help of her unique culinary background, Iana hopes to provide her future dietetic clients a novel approach to nutritional care, where she can help them nurture their health and well-being by demonstrating that cooking good food is just as important as eating good food.

Iana is very active in her community, giving back time to those in need. She volunteers at the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, where she prepares nutritional displays that enhance the learning experience of their clients. She also had the opportunity to manage a team of executives as student branch president of Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals Ryerson, a group on campus that provides networking opportunities to students. Being part of CAFP has shown her the vital role that networking plays in the food service profession.

Pictured:  Nancy Klassen, WFIM Chair,  2015 Scholarship Winner Iana Mologuina, and Richard Messer

Thanks our Generous Sponsors: